Order # ACD 1006

Track list:
1. I'm Tore Up
2. Talking
3. Going Back to Memphis
4. Talking
5. The Devil Is a Busy Man
6. Talking
7. Dust My Brrom
8. Talking
9. The Dirty Dozens
10. Smile On My Face
11. Prison Bound Blues
12. Long Tall Daddy
13. Got to See My Baby
14. Talking
15. Sarah Lee
16. Roll and Tumble Blues
17. Slim's Boogie

Total time:




The quintessential Sunnyland Slim, blues singer and pianoman, performs, jokes and reminisces. And we hear Big Time Sarah Streeter, accompanied by Sunnyland, in one of her earliest recordings.

Sunnyland Slim sings and plays his own compositions, plus tunes by Robert Johnson, Leroy Carr and Hambone Willie Newburn, in this 1976 recording made in Seattle while Sunnyland was on tour from Chicago. In one of her earliest recordings, Big Time Sarah Streeter sings the smoky title song, Long Tall Daddy, and Got to See My Baby, to Sunnyland's piano accompaniment.

Sunnyland Slim was a key figure in the blues world, helping start the recording career of Muddy Waters, and meeting and playing with the likes of Roosevelt Sykes (one of his main influences), Big Bill Broonzy, Memphis Minnie, David Honeyboy Edwards, Walter Jacobs, and more. In 1988, he was awarded the National Humanities Fellowship by the National Endowment of the Arts, in recognition of his contributions to the blues. Here the congenial Sunnyland entertains with boogie-woogie and slow blues, reminiscences and humor. With liner notes by Bill Berry.

"This CD offers an intimate performance... from the Patriarch of the Chicago Blues." - Bill Berry

"A fine choice of repertoire and some very interesting interview segments. Slim was an important artist, and this will be a welcome complementary CD to his other work." — David Evans, The University of Memphis

Sunnyland Slim and Big Time Sarah.

To order this disk go to the Order Page.



Arcola Home|About Arcola|Order Page|Blues Links|Email Arcola
Copyright 2002-2020 Arcola Records|PO Box 70167 Seattle, WA 98127|Phone/Fax (206) 568-1932